What is a Chakra?


Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means disk or wheel.

Within the body we have 7 primary chakras that run along the spine and interact with the physical body through two primary avenues - the endocrine system and the nervous system.

Each chakra impacts our emotional, psychological and physical health in some way.

For example, a woman who finds it challenging to be assertive or speak up for herself, will more than likely have an imbalance in her throat chakra and likely in her personal power chakra which is called the Solar Plexus Chakra (see below).

This imbalance might show up as passive aggression, a thyroid problem and/or stomach and digestive issues.

While chakras are often associated with Hinduism and Buddism, you don’t have to ascribe to a particular religion to benefit from understanding and working with your chakras.

Here is a list of the 7 main chakras. Each having its own location in the body, unique characteristics and color.


Root Chakra—Red

It is located at the coccyx or base of the tailbone. The root chakra is connected to the adrenal glands, bones and skeletal system. You might experience challenges in this area if you are faced with survival and/or physical needs.

Sacral Chakra—Orange

The sacral chakra is located at the umbilicus, or more simply put, about two inches below the belly button. This chakra is tied to the reproductive glands and impacts circulation and the lower back system. When this chakra is out of whack it might have to do with emotional balance and/or sexuality. This is where your sense of well-being and creativity stems from.

The Solar Plexus Chakra—Yellow

It is located below the tip of the sternum in your upper abdomen. This chakra is tied to the pancreas and adrenal glands as well as the digestive system and your muscles. This is where your ideas about personal power or your self-esteem can impact flow. The greater your self-love and respect, the more balanced your solar plexus will be.

The Heart Chakra—Green

This chakra is located in the mid-sternum or rather the center of the chest. The thymus gland, your heart, lungs, chest and circulation can be impacted. If you have difficulty loving yourself and others, being judgmental or finding it hard to forgive, it is likely your heart chakra is out of balance.

The Throat Chakra—Blue

It is located in the throat and influences the thyroid, parathyroid glands, ear, nose, throat, mouth and neck. Issues with this chakra have to do with communication and self-expression. Finding your voice, speaking your truth, listening to your intuition as well as to others is vital to a balanced and healthy throat chakra.

The Third Eye Chakra—Indigo

This chakra is located mid-forehead and impacts the pituitary gland, eyes and nervous system. This is where intuition and wisdom are expressed and 3rd eye eyesight. This is also the seat of psychic-knowing and clairvoyance (clear-seeing)

The Crown Chakra—White, Gold, Violet

It is located at the top of the head and is connected to the pineal gland. It impacts the cerebral cortex and skin. This is where selflessness and spirituality come into and the connection to our inner and outer beauty. It is from this chakra that we connect to the Divine and a greater sense of awareness and consciousness.

To Balance your Chakras, Here a 10 Great Ways to Get Started.

  1. Acupuncture

  2. Reiki

  3. Meditation

  4. Yoga

  5. Qi Gong

  6. Tai Chi

  7. Spending time in nature

  8. Living your truth

  9. Visualize the colors of each chakra swirling like a vibrant ball of energy at the point of the body of which they are located

  10. Grateful prayer

Did you enjoy this article? Like and share below. Michelle XO